Making a discovery…

As some of you know I got to a bootcamp locally NJ.  I can’t say enough how much I LOVE the trainers, the ladies I workout with and the workouts.  Everyone is always very supportive and the workouts make you sweat.  I’ve learned a lot about what I put in my body and I’ve learned to listen to my body.  I’ve changed the way I think about food and what I eat (most of the time).  However, my brain gets in the ways sometimes (more times than I’d like to admit).

On Friday, August 5th my day did not start as planned (and it has some help from the prio night). I was up later than normal on Thursday night as I had some company coming on Saturday and a big event on Sunday. However, I decided to give myself some relaxation time and read one chapter of a book…an hour later I was still reading.  I finally put the book down after an hour and went to sleep.  I work up before my alarm, decided not to go to bootcamp, then I got up and I was going…I had this awful nagging feeling in me and I couldn’t figure out what it was.  In the end I didn’t go to bootcamp that day; however, I did learn something about myself.  I discovered that because I knew I didn’t get enough sleep the night before and I was a little stressed about getting everything done for my company and my big event on Sunday (which was a huge success) that I didn’t want to let anyone down at bootcamp…I didn’t want to fail and I didn’t want to let the other ladies and my trainer down by not being able to keep up with the class.  I let my mind take over what in the end my body probably craved.

My fitness guru, Lindsay and I discussed this last week…I don’t know the underlying cause except that I always want to be good at everything I do and when things don’t come naturally my mind makes excuses.  So we talked about a concept of a turnstyle…let the negative thoughts go through the turnstyle quick and the positive ones stay awhile.

Today was my first bootcamp while on the Clean program.  I was a little anxious / scared last night when I went to sleep (about how my body would react to the workout).  I slept ok last night.  I woke up around 4:30 am…I don’t get up for bootcamp until about 5:10 am.  I put the turnstyle into practice along with a little meditation (something I read from the book yesterday)…and between the two really helped me relax and get to bootcamp this morning.  I was the first one there and boy was it a great workout.  I feel energized and that nagging headache I had this morning is gone!

Happy Monday!

2 comments

  1. Lindsay · August 15, 2011

    I love this Katie…the “turnstile” of our thoughts can make or break our mindset. What you’re doing is “retraining” your mind to want to throw out those negative thoughts as quickly as they enter. We’re human…so those negative thoughts will always be there; it’s how long we let them “shop around” in our head that is the difference.

    I’m so proud to be part of this journey with you!

Leave a Reply

