Foods Included on the Clean Program…

I thought I would share with you the foods that I can EAT on the Clean Program.  If it isn’t on this list I shouldn’t eat it.  And of course, I’ve found at least one thing I ate last week that I shouldn’t have…grilled tuna…rut roh.  The Clean Program has you eliminate foods in your diet to see if you have a reaction to them once you slowly add them back to your diet after the 21 days.

I thought it was important to focus on what I CAN eat vs. what I can’t!  Over the past two weeks, I’ve eaten more fruits and vegetables in awhile as well as getting more chickpeas in my diet.  I love hummus…an awesome snack (and on the included list); as for on my salads…not a favorite of mine.  I find I eat them last (scooped up with a spoon) (in my opinion…they have no taste).  I think this coming week, I’ll mix them with some other beans…maybe I’ll like them more.  A favorite of mine is considered a condiment (more like they didn’t know where to put it):  Raw Cocoa (a Mayan superfood) (I bought the Navitas brand at Wegman’s (it is in the protein powder aisle not the baking aisle of the organic section).  Raw Cocao powder is full of antioxidants, iron and magnesium…a great addition to a protein shake!

Included Foods:

Fruits:  Whole fruits, unsweetened, frozen or water-packed, diluted natural juices

Dairy Substitutes:   Nut milks such as almond milk, rice milk, brazil nut milk, hemp seed milk

Non-Glutein Grains / Starches:  Brown rice, millet, quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat

Animal Protein:  Cold-water fish: salmon & trout, wild game, lean lamb, duck, chicken, turkey

Vegetable Protein:  Split peas, lentils, legumes, beans

Nuts & Seeds:  Walnuts, sesame, pumpkin, sunflower, hazelnuts,  pecans, almonds, cashews, nut and seed butters

Vegetables:  Preferably fresh, raw, steamed, sauteed, juiced, roasted (not on the included list:   Corn, creamed vegetables, tomatoes, potatoes, eggplants, peppers)

Oils:  Cold-pressed olive, coconut, flax, sesame, almond, sunflower, pumpkin, walnut, coconut

Drinks:  Filtered water, green tea, herbal teas, seltzer or mineral water, yerba mate, coconut water

Sweeteners:  Stevia, xylitol, brown rice syrup, coconut sugar

Condiments:  Vinegar, all spices, sea salt, dried pepper, basil, carob, raw cacao, cinnamon, cumin, dill, garlic, ginger,
mustard, oregano, parsley, rosemary, turmeric, thyme

Leave a Reply

