In the Homestretch…

Sorry I’ve been away for awhile.  Hurricane Irene was a bit distracting.  It was a little scary Saturday night and I lost power for a few hours.  I got off easy vs. many people up and down the east coast who are dealing with flooding, still no power and damage to their property.  If you want to donate to help with relief:  http://www.redcross.org/

Well I’ve completed my 2 weeks on the Clean program. I’m in the homestretch!!  I’m officially done at noon on Saturday. I’m 1/2 day shy of the full 21 days.  I’m stopping a 1/2 day early as this Saturday is the kick-off of the PSU 2011 Football Season.  More on the reason later.

I’ve stuck to the program for the entire time.  Don’t get me wrong, I had my cravings but I got through them.  I’ve noticed some changes.  One in particular relates to my feet.  I have an arch problem (it is so bad I have custom orthodics).  I noticed last week at bootcamp, it wasn’t bothering me as much.  I can narrow it down to two things:  I did purchase new cross trainers and I haven’t been eating nightshade veggies.  What are nightshades?  They are tomatos, peppers, eggplant and gogi berries.  They cause inflammation.  I’m going to see how my workouts for the next couple of days to see if I notice the same thing as last Friday.

What is next?  When I finish the 21 day Clean program or in my case 20 1/2 day Clean program, you gradually add back the foods you’ve eliminated to see if you have any reactions.  The first thing I plan on introducing back are 2 things – nightshades and alcohol…I plan on having a Bloody Mary at Noon on 9/3 to kick-off the 2011 Football Season.  I’ve already committed to myself that I’m not going to blow all of my work my first day back to regular eating.  I picked out my salad and know what I’m going to ask them to remove and add (and I’m bringing my own salad dressing) (and yes I know at least one of my friends will give me a look – I’m used to it though).  So for the most part on Saturday I’m sticking to the program.  I’m going to have a shake for breakfast, a light lunch (grilled chicken salad sans feta cheese and my own balsalmic dressing), veggies / apple during the game, water, bloody mary, water and a shake or soup for dinner.

Below are the foods / beverages I have eliminated from my diet over the passed 2 1/2 weeks.

ELIMINATION DIET

Fruits:  Oranges, orange juice, grapefruit, strawberries, grapes, banana

Dairy & Substitutes:  Dairy and eggs, milk, cheese, cottage cheese, cream, yogurt, butter, ice cream, non-dairy creamers

Gluetins / Starch:  Wheat, corn, barley, spelt, kamut, rye, couscous, oats

Animal Protein:  Raw fish, pork, beef, veal, sausage, cold cuts, canned meats, hot dogs, shellfish

Vegetable Protein:  Soybean products (soy sauce, soybean oil in processed, foods, tempeh, tofu, soy milk, soy yogurt)

Nuts:  Peanuts, peanut butter, pistachios, macadamia nuts

Vegetables:  Corn, creamed vegetables, tomatoes, potatoes, eggplants, peppers

Oils:  Butter, margarine, shortening, processed oils, canola oil, salad dressings, mayonnaise, spreads

Drinks:  Alcohol, coffee, caffeinated beverages, soda pop, soft drinks

Sweetners:  Refined sugar, white/brown sugars, honey, maple syrup, high fructose corn syrup, evaporated cane juice, Splenda®, Equal®, Sweet’N Low®

Condiments:  Chocolate, ketchup, relish, chutney, soy sauce, barbecue sauce, teriyaki, other condiments

Leave a Reply

