Fun Stuff

I know I’ve been posting lots about my journey of self-discovery.

Thought I’d let you in on some of the fun I’ve been having this very busy September. I love summer, but if summer has to end I’m glad fall follows it. I went to Penn State and love, love, love college football…especially my Nittany Lions. I’ve been a season ticket holder for 9 seasons now!

September 3rd was PSU’s first game of the season against Indiana State. I didn’t go to the game, but went to the Central NJ Chapter’s of the Penn State Alumni Association (www.pennstatecnj.org) football watching party. We raffled off a pair of tickets to the PSU vs. Alabama game. We raised $2k for our local scholarship fund. We had a great turnout at our watching parties and it was great to see so many friends and Alums out for our parties.

I headed up to Penn State on 9/7 to meet my Mom and one of her friend’s for lunch at The Quarterback Club of State College.  What is it?  Lunch in Beaver Stadium and a chance to hear coaches and players speak after lunch.  AWESOME!!  I’ve had a chance to go to a luncheon for the last few years…and I always have a great time.  My Mom and I stayed in State College for the remainder of the week to celebrate my birthday (I think this might be an annual event from now on).   I took her to some of my favorite spots in town (Pickles, Cafe 210 West, Corner Room) (the ‘Skeller is next year) and discovered a new one (Allen Street Grill).  My Dad joined us for my birthday celebration at The Tavern.  We capped off the week with lunch at The Mt. Nittany Inn.  The views were fantastic…too bad it was a bit foggy.  There isn’t a bad view in the place.  We sat on the glass enclosed deck…it was awesome.  I took some pictures…they just don’t do the views justice due to the weather.   The trip to State College was capped off with the PSU vs. Alabama game.  I had an opporutnity to sit in club seats for the first time ever.  The seats were great (even if there was someone behind us who didn’t like us standing for every play…seriously…watch the game from home if you don’t want to stand up).  It was a beautiful day but sadly my Lions did not win.

This past Saturday, Penn State took on Temple at the LINC.  I went to the game with my Dad and brother.  We had a nice, simple tailgate.   Nothing better than bagel sandwiches and beer to start the day off right! 🙂  We had great seats in the end zone (last row and seats starting on the aisle).  It was a bit of a nail biter to say the least.  PSU won by the skin of their chinny chin chins!   We made the fastest exit out of a parking lot ever…it is the little things!  And I had a fantastic time hanging out with my Dad and brother.

Next week, I’m off to State College again for the PSU vs. Eastern MI game with a bunch of my college friends.  Looking forward to a great weekend and the hopes that PSU has a much better performance next weekend.

For the Glory!!

WE ARE…

 

Leave a Reply

