Favorite Christmas Cookie Recipes – Last Installment

As promised, here is the last installment of my Christmas Cookie recipes.  These last three recipes have been added in the last 10 years.  Of course, there is a little story behind each recipe.

Buttery Shortbread:  This is the easy recipe of all the cookies I make – and the richest.  If I don’t have time to make cookies – I still find time to make these cookies.  I even have a 12 days of Christmas pan I use for them.  If you don’t have a speacial shortbread pan, I’ve used glass  pan pans.  This recipe is from some dear friends who I met during my time in Dallas.  It actually comes from England.  2 Cups of Flour, 1/2 Cup Cornstartch, 1/2 Cup Sugar, 2 sticks (1/2 lb) butter – unsalted (melted).  Preheat the over to 300 degrees.  Sift the flour, cornstarch and sugar into a medium bolw.  Stir in the melted butter (I microwave the butter).  Knead lightly; press into 8 inch round cake or pie pans.  Prick the dough all over with a fork (if using a pie pan I prick the dough so it looks like slices of pie).  Back for 35 minutes, until set but not browned.  Remove from the oven and cut.  Let cool on a wire rack.

Great Big Oatmeal Cookies:  These cookies are courtesy of The Great American Home Cooking Recipe cards.  Yes, those requests to join a recipe club.  I never joined, but I kept the recipe because the cookies had coconut in them.  One year instead of making the Oatmeal Crispies (see my first Christmas cookie recipe post) I decided to make these cookies to see how everyone liked them.  They were a hit; although my Dad still prefers the Oatmeal Crispies.  1 1/2 cup flaked coconut, 3 cups rolled oats, 1 1/4 Cups flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup unsalted butter (softened), 1 1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar, 2 large eggs (room temp), 1 tsp vanilla & 1/4 cup milk.  Spread the coconut and oats over a large baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until toasted, stirring often.  Cool.  Mix the flour, baking soda and salt.  Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl at medium speed for 1 minute.  Add the eggs and vanilla to the butter mixture.  Beat int he milk.  Stir in the flour, then the coconut and the oats.  Drop dough in 1/4 cup amounts, 3 inches aprt onto baking sheets.  Bake for 12 minutes at 350.  Let cool 1 minute; transfer to a rack.

Laurie Womer’s Coffee Bean Cookies:  My Mom found this recipe in The Patriot Newspaper – Harrisburg, PA.  This came from a reader in Lower Paxton Twp.  My Mom knows I enjoy my coffee and thought these would be a hit.  She made these cookies for me one Christmas and gave me the recipe.  The are obviously great with a nice cup of coffee.  1/2 cup butter (unsalted) (softened), 1/2 cup solid shortening (Crisco), 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar, 2 large eggs (room temp), 1 tsp vanilla extract, 2 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 cup chopped almonds, 1 cup chocolate covered coffee beans, 1 cup Heath Toffee bits.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees  Beat the butter and shortening on medium speed of an electric mixer until creamy.  Gradually add sugars and beat well.  Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.  Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon; add to butter mixture, beating well.  Stir in almonds, coffe beens and Heath bits.  Cover and chill dough for several hours or overnight.  Drop dough by heaping teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheets.  Bake 10 – 11 minutes or until golden.  Cook on cookie sheets for 1 minute; remove to wire racks and cool completely.  Makes 4 dozen.  Note:  Find chocolate covered coffee beans at local coffee houses or coffee kiosks at some grocery stores.

Happy Baking!  Enjoy!!  Let me know if you try any of the recipes and if they were a hit or not.

Leave a Reply

