Classic Movie FAVs

I’m on vacation this week getting ready for the Christmas (I go back to work on the 27th).  I’m hosting at my house for the third time.  I really enjoy it.  I’m a huge procrastinator…right now I should be organizing and cleaning my house (my tree isn’t even up yet) (and I work better under pressure) instead I’m writing this update.  I thought of this blog as I was eating my lunch and put the tv on and up popped TCM.

When I’m organizing / cleaning, I sometimes put music on but most times select a classic movie from my DVR or DVD collection.  I thought I’d share some of my favs.  Check them out when you get a chance:

Charade (1963):  Watching it as I type this.  It stars Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn (there was a remake with Mark Wahlberg – that didn’t do very well).  The premise of this movie is Audrey Hepburn is an American in Paris and he husband is killed (in his PJs off a train).  Her husband is not who she thinks he is.  He and some Army buddies in WWII stole gold from the German.  Cary Grant is her knight in shining armor – but he isn’t everything he seems to be.  Great music from Henry Mancini.  I first Tivo’ed this from PBS (the quality wasn’t that great).  I re-Tivo’ed it on Turner Classic Movies (TCM) – quality is much better.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961):  Starring Audrey Hepburn and George Peppard.  I own this DVD.  Haven’t watched in quite some time.  Need to pull it out soon and watch Holly Golightly.

The Philadelphia Story (1940):  Stars Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn.  Hepburn is a Main Line socialite (and a spitfire, Grant calls Red) and Grant plays her first husband.  He shows up 2 years after their divorce right before her wedding.  He brings with him a reporter (played by Jimmy Stewart) and a photographer from a tabloid.  I just saw it for the first time over the weekend.  I really enjoyed it.  Although didn’t like the first scene when Grant’s character shoved Hepburn’s character down…totally not acceptable now and shouldn’t have been then.  Mark your calendar, it is on TCM on 2/1/12 at 10:15 pm ET.

That Touch of Mink (1962):  Stars Cary Grant and Doris Day.  A rich businessman and a young woman are attracted to each other, but he only wants an affair while she wants to save her virginity for marriage.  It is cute.  I haven’t watched in awhile…just re-Tivo’ed it.

The Thin Man (1934):  I remember watching with my parents…probably on PBS.  I own the entire Thin Man set (there are 6 movies).  The first is of course the best.  Stars William Powell (Nick) and Myrna Loy (Nora).  He is a retired detective and she is a rich socialite.  He tells people all the time he married her for her money.  They are such a believeable couple.  Everywhere they go someone ends up dead.  And Nick to the rescue to solve it.  If you want to catch the series or DVR them, they are on 12/22 on TCM starting at 8:00 pm ET.

I Love You Again (1940):  Stars William Powell and Myrna Loy (not as Nick and Nora).  He ends up getting bonked on the head and comes out of amnesia.  He is a con man.  This is one that never gets old.  It is on TCM at 12/29 at 1:00 am ET.

Libeled Lady (1936):  This one has 4 great stars:  William Powell, Myrna Loy, Jean Harlow  and Spencer Tracy.  Powell and Harlow were an item until she passed away of cancer.  Harlow and Tracy are engaged.  He is a newspaper man.  Powell is an old acquaintance of his.  Loy plays a socialite who is suing Tracy’s paper for Libel.  Watch as he pulls Powell in to help get him out of the jam.  It is on TCM on 12/29 at 4:30 am ET.

The Bishop’s Wife (1947):  I mentioned this in my Christmas FAVS post. This stars Cary Grant, Lorretta Young and David Niven.  Niven plays the Biship and Young is his wife.  Grant plays the angel.  It is a wonderful story around the holidays.  It is on TCM on 12/24 at 2:30 am ET.

It’s a Wonderful Life (1946):  Stars Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed (both are in a THIN Man movie – different sequels).  I remember watching this as a kid before it became popular.  Could be one of my all time favs.  Remember – “Everytime a bell rings, an angel gets its wings.”  Congrats Clarence.  It is on NBC on 12/24 at 8:00 pm ET.

Miracle of 34th Street (1947):  Stars Maureen O’Hara and little Natalie Wood.  A great movie about Believing!  It is on TCM on 12/24 at 8:00 pm ET.

I have on my list to watch North by Northwest.  It stars Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint.  I’ve seen parts of the movie but never in one sitting.  I just recently Tivo’ed it.  It is on 2/13/12 on TCM at 5:30 pm.

I hope you get an opportunity to watch some of the movies.  Do you have any suggestions of ones I should watch that aren’t on the list?

Leave a Reply

