My New Favorite – HIIT Workout

July is a very busy month with vacation and travel so I won’t be attending my normal bootcamp. Two days this week while on vacation I re-discovered HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workouts.  I’ve known about them for since the first BodyProject Transformation, but I’ll be honest I never really embraced them.  I dislike cardio – all kinds – it is just not enjoyable to me – never has been.

The mantra for HIIT is “no long cardio” – and this is not a long cardio at all.  The gym I joined while on vacation has a 30 minute time limit for the treadmill and elliptical machines.  I select the elliptical and have gotten 23 and 24 minutes of HIIT workouts for the past two days with 7 and 6 minute warm-up/cool-down.  This hits the mark for me!  I love the sense of accomplishment!

Here is the work-out I did today (I did the 10 rounds x 2):

  1. Work Hard – 15 seconds; Rest:  45 seconds
  2. Work Hard – 15 seconds; Rest:  45 seconds
  3. Work Hard – 30 seconds; Rest:  60 seconds
  4. Work Hard – 30 seconds; Rest:  60 seconds
  5. Work Hard – 15 seconds; Rest:  30 seconds
  6. Work Hard – 15 seconds; Rest:  30 seconds
  7. Work Hard – 30 seconds; Rest:  60 seconds
  8. Work Hard – 30 seconds; Rest:  60 seconds
  9. Work Hard – 15 seconds; Rest:  45 seconds
  10. Work Hard – 15 seconds; Rest:  45 seconds

For more information about HIIT workouts check out this link:  http://tiny.cc/5zv0gw

Here was the rest of my workout this morning:

5 Times x 5 Rounds

  1. Overhead Press – 8 lbs
  2. Bicep Curls – 10 lbs
  3. Tricep Kickbacks – 8 lbs
  4. Chest Flye – 8 lbs
  5. Back Row – 10 lbs

And lastly 4 30 second low planks and finally a nice stretch.  I’m ready to start the day.  Have a fantastic Friday!!

PS:  This will be my go to workout when I’m traveling for work next week! 🙂

2 comments

  1. Lindsay · July 6, 2012

    Love this Katie…and posting this is a great way to keep accountable!

    • keepingupwithkate91 · July 6, 2012

      Thanks Lindsay! Check out the accountability page – particularly June! Stay cool.

Leave a Reply

