Green Smoothie Recipe – #1

I’m starting to experiment with Green Smoothies. I’m really curious to see how they have a positive impact on my energy level (and selfishly if there are any weight loss benefits). I think many of you know I’ve been seeing a nutritionist for almost a year. One of the things I have to focus on is getting more veggies in each meal. Sometimes I don’t do that great of a job doing getting my veggies.  I want to see if this makes a difference.  I’m don’t plan on using these as a meal replacement – more of a quick hit on getting my ‘greens’.

Yesterday, I was visiting my Aunt and Uncle.  The plan was for the 3 of us to go out for dinner.  We tried a steak place that didn’t seem to have their act together and we left before ever being seated.  And the next place we went to – we were seated relatively quickly, wait staff was great, I got my salad and then the wait started – and then we waited.  Somehow our order got lost – who knows.  The manager came over and apologized and told us the meal was on her – which was great – and then we waited some more.  Of course when the food finally came out – everything was cold except the plates and my sweet potato fries (which of course I had a few).  Needless to say we left (we did give our waitress a tip as this wasn’t her fault).  And we can go back for 3 free entrees.  The reason I told you this story is I left there and got home around 8 pm and I still need to eat dinner (and honestly I didn’t feel like cooking anything).  Perfect opportunity to make a Green Smoothie!

I grabbed this recipe off of Facebook from Amanda Hayes::Nutrition and Wellness Page (post dated March 14th).  I altered slightly for my preference though.  Her recipe calls for a banana and I skipped that since I haven’t been eating fruit.  Her recipe was for Peanut Butter and I opted for Almond Butter instead.

1 cup unsweetened almond milk (Trader Joe’s)
Few handfuls of torn up spinach
3-4 ice cubes
2 tablespoons raw cocoa powder (Navitas)
2 tablespoons flaxseed
1 tablespoon Almond Butter (Trader Joe’s)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablet of Blackleaf Stevia (I would use 2 next time – would’ve preferred a little sweeter)
pinch of sea salt (I used Himalayan)
pinch of cinnamon (I used more than a pinch)

I enjoyed it although it was an interesting color of green – a Happy St. Patrick’s Day Smoothie!

2 comments

  1. Laura · March 21, 2013

    Katie – The smoothie you mentioned as being peppery probably came from a combination of both ginger and the parsley. Ginger can be pretty hot and different parsley varieties have various flavors. You may want to try adjusting down the ginger first and see how it tastes. If that doesn’t work, adjust the parsley. Flat leaf will give you a mellower taste than curly. Enjoy!

    • keepingupwithkate91 · March 21, 2013

      Thanks Laura. I thought it might be from the parsley – didn’t think about the combo. I’ll remember that for next time. Thanks for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

