DIY – Almond Butter

I decided it was time to pull out my Vitamix and use if for more than making smoothies.  I wanted to make my own almond butter and almond flour (still working on perfecting this).  It was super easy!

I just love my Vitamix - favorite kitchen tool

I just love my Vitamix – favorite kitchen tool

I got my non-roasted almonds from BJs.  I think about $10 for the bag.

All Natural Whole Almonds from BJs - very affordable

All Natural Whole Almonds from BJs – very affordable

I added 2 cups of Almonds into my Vitamix with the tamper in place.

2 Cups of Almonds in Vitamix with tamper - apparently I need to do a better job of getting the water spots off the vitamx.

2 Cups of Almonds in Vitamix with tamper – apparently I need to do a better job of getting the water spots off the Vitamix.

I turned the Vitamix onto 1 and quickly turned it up to 10 and then moved it to High (use your tamper to push down the almonds) – it is very quick – you will hear the Vitamix start to churn hard as the Almonds release their oils – which helps create the Almond Butter.  This should be done between 1 – 3 minutes no more – listen to your machine so you don’t burn it out.

Here is what it looks like in the Vitamix:

Almond Butter in the Vitamix

Almond Butter in the Vitamix

And the final product in its container.

Finished Almond Butter - yum!

Finished Almond Butter – yum!

I used a nice heaping tablespoon in my pre-workout shake along with 4 ozs of unsweetened almond milk, 4 ozs water and 1 scoop of Chocolate Sun Warrior protein mix.  I put all ingredients into the Vitamix – delicious (and made for a great workout)!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment