Easy – Yummy – Healthy Dessert

As part of the 6 week Spring Transformation, we’ve been able to participate in evening workshops. The most recent one was a Greek cooking workshop focusing on 3 easy but different salads and a dessert. I plan on making the salads (I’ll post about them later). I enjoyed all of the items, but was really amazed at how easy, yummy and healthy you can make a dessert (I have a major sweet tooth).

The dessert was Baklava Fillo Cups by Viva! Mangia! Opa! by Thekla Mazzella (Facebook page link:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Viva-Mangia-Opa-by-Thekla-Mazzella/227422350627471?group_id=0). (Thekla will be posting vegan recipes on her FB page this week)

Here is the recipe:

  • 2 Cups of toasted almond slices (I bought mine at BJs)
  • 1/2 Cup shredded coconut (I used unsweetened from Black Forest Acres)
  • 2 T of sesame seeds
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 3 T honey (I used organic raw honey) (I ended up using about 4T – you’ll see why later).
  • Box of mini fillo cups (you can fined them in the frozen food desserts section in the grocery store – there were 15 in the box)

Toast your almonds first (I did mine on the stove)

Toasting Almonds on the Stove - med/high heat for a few minutes - I did about 1/2 a cup at a time.

Toasting Almonds on the Stove – med/high heat for a few minutes – I did about 1/2 a cup at a time.

Let almonds cool (this is what I didn’t do and why I think I needed another T of honey).  Mix almonds, coconut, sesame seeds, cinnamon and honey together until all ingredients are coated well.  Place mixture into fillo cups.

Mini Fillo Cups - aren't they just adorable!

Mini Fillo Cups – aren’t they just adorable?

Here is the finished product –

Baklava Fillo Cup

Baklava Fillo Cup

These are so delicious.  You can even drizzle chocolate on them – can you imagine? 🙂

I have some extra mixture and it tastes fabulous by itself.  I figure it will be good in yogurt, ricotta cheese and I might even try it in some cottage cheese!

Enjoy!!

PS:  Thanks Thekla – they were a huge hit!!

Leave a Reply

