Sleeping with my iPhone – it isn’t what you think!:-)

I’ve had my iPhone for over a year now and one of the first apps that I downloaded (based on another blogger’s recommendation) was Sleep Cycle.  http://www.sleepcycle.com/

Sleep Cycle icon on my phone - next to the SFDC Chatter icon - yes I had a lot of unopened email! :-)

Sleep Cycle icon on my phone – next to the SFDC Chatter icon – yes I had a lot of unopened email! 🙂

Sleep Cycle (per the app intro) – used a wake up phase (30 minutes by default) that ends at your desired alarm time. During the phase Sleep Cycle will monitor your body to wake you softly when you are in the lightest possible sleep state. Sleep Cycle uses the iPhone accelerometer to sense your movement as you sleep. You place your iPhone upside down on your mattress. Mine is always on airplane mode when I use it – not text or email alerts when I’m trying to sleep.

I had a great night sleep Tuesday night – 100% quality!  I’ve only had one other 100% night sleep and both times they were days when I did YOGA!

100% Sleep Quality Night!

100% Sleep Quality Night!

You can notes based on some of your daily habits to see how they impact your sleep pattern. I only added this in the last 6 – 8 months.  Here is a view of what the graphs look like – stress (dah) negatively impacts my sleep pattern.

Yoga and Eating Late have a positive impact on my sleep pattern - stressful day - not so much!

Yoga and Eating Late have a positive impact on my sleep pattern – stressful day – not so much!

Hardbody/Worked are the same activity, tea is herbal and good hydration has a slight advantage over low.

Hardbody/Worked are the same activity, tea is herbal and good hydration has a slight advantage over low.

At first I was skeptical about this app, however, I can tell you I see how it changes and when I work up Wednesday morning I really felt refreshed.  Just wish I had a lot more 100% night sleeps – most of mine nights hover around the 80% + /- area.

3 month sleep quality %

3 month sleep quality %

You can check out lots of trends.  I also found out I really need 7 1/2 – 8 hours of quality sleep – good news is I’m really close to that goal on average.

Average Hours per night and other interesting data points.

Average Hours per night and other interesting data points.

I think this is very insightful as I continue to learn more and more about myself and how sleep impacts my ability to function and lose weight.  Sleep it does the body good! (or in my case – GREAT)!!

Leave a Reply

