In the Kitchen with Kate

Last Saturday, I took my Aunt out for her birthday. I invited my other Aunt to join us as well. We had a fabulous time as always. My Mom and her two sisters are great – our Angels!

Anyway, one of my Aunt’s saw on Dr. Oz about the Paleo diet and she wanted to try it.  I looked up a couple of websites and sent her some links.  And I also sent her a link to Elana’s Pantry – http://www.elanaspantry.com/paleo-diet-recipes/.

I was invited to my Aunt’s to celebrate Mother’s Day.  I promised her I would bring Paleo friendly food.   Had a great visit with my parents, Aunts, Uncle and my cousins and their kids – a great day!!

Here is what I brought:  Paleo friendly Pesto (used as a dip) and Salad including homemade dressing.  They were both really easy to make too.  Here are the recipes (I forgot to take pictures) (sorry)

Pesto

  • 1 – 2 Handfuls of Basil
  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • Dry Roasted / Salted Pistachios

Put all ingredients in a high powered blender until smooth.  Makes a fabulous dip with Rice Crisps (gluten free).  If you don’t want to make it Paleo just add some freshly grated parmesan or romano cheese.

Salad

  • Spinach
  • Organic Cranberries
  • Chopped Figs
  • Organic Mushrooms
  • Organic Yellow Peppers
  • Toasted Pecans

Homemade Dressing:  I bought a Good Seasoning’s Cruet to make the dressing.  It has lines on the cruet to show where to fill with Vinegar (V), Water (W) and Oil (O).  I ignored the W line.  I added Fig Balsamic Vinegar to the W line (the W line is higher than the Vinegar line), then I added Extra Virgin Olive Oil to the Oil line.  I then added 1 tablespoon of Honey Dijon Mustard.  I forgot some additional seasonings like oregano – so you can add additional seasonings.  Shake up and you have a fabulous, homemade dressing!

Everyone enjoyed the Pesto dip and Salad with the homemade dressing.  Enjoy!!

PS:  My Aunt has decided Paleo just isn’t for her – she likes her dairy too much.  However, I left her some recipes to try some new and healthy things.

2 comments

  1. Ginette · May 13, 2013

    I’m going to try the pesto. Sounds awesome!

    • keepingupwithkate91 · May 13, 2013

      It is addictive! The Vitamix makes a huge difference too – I tried in a small blender and it just didn’t mix it up enough. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

