Ice Cream, Ice Cream, We all SCREAM for ICE CREAM

I have loved ice cream for as long as I can remember. When I would go to my Mom-Mom’s and Pop-Pop’s – there was always a 1/2 gallon of REAL Breyer’s Vanilla ice cream.   For years, our house only had Breyer’s ice cream in it – we branched out and tried other flavors beside vanilla too.  🙂

Fast forward to 2013 and it is hot as blazes for June 1st – feels more like August 1st. I’ve been doing ‘chores’ all day and wanted some ice cream tonight.  I was originally going to hit the drive-thru at Dairy Queen for a Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard (small).  I decided I’d go get some Breyer’s Ice Cream with peanut butter cup, chocolate cookie dough or chocolate chip – since I would know the ingredients.  Boy was I wrong!  I find the Breyer’s with peanut butter cup and it says it is made with Light Ice Cream (and lots of other stuff) – there are so many ingregdients in it – there was the mention of Sugar – 11xs!  So then I decided to look at the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Chocolate Chip – both made with Frozen Dairy Dessert – with both having at least 3 types of Sugars.  Needless to say I was disgusted and disappointed in Breyer’s.  What has happened to Breyer’s?

Off I went to the Turkey Hill section – they had ice cream with similar ingredients until I spied Turkey Hill All Natural Ice Cream – I picked the Salted Caramel – 6 ingredients:  cream, milk, sugar, caramel, vanilla and salt!  The sugar content is higher than I normally get – next time I’ll try the Coffee – 3 less grams of sugar.

So how was the ice cream?  It was yummy (a touch sweeter than it needed to be – but still yummy)!  I enjoyed it as I watched the opening of Libeled Lady (1936) on TCM.

And in case you haven’t figured it out – I will be purchasing the Turkey Hill All Natural from now on.

Stay cool!

Leave a Reply

