Take Me Out to the Ball Game…

You know how the rest of the song goes (you are singing it right?)…

Monday night I took my nephew to the Phillies vs. Marlins game as part of his baseball association’s night out at the ballpark. I had gone last year with my brother and nephew and it was a lot of fun. My brother was traveling for work and asked if I could take him. Of course, the answer was YES!

We had to get to the ballpark early because part of the evening included a walk around the stadium. Last year, my nephew walked with the team and one of the coaches. This year he was on a new team and I was a little nervous as I didn’t know any of the parents or the coaches. I befriended one of the Mom’s and she encouraged me to go on the field – which is exactly what I did. I don’t know who enjoyed walking on the field more – the kids or the adults?  We were all walking around use our cellphones – snapping pictures.

Here are some of the fun shots I got on the field:

Local group playing the theme to Rocky as we walked around the Ballpark

Local group playing the theme to Rocky as we walked around the Ballpark

Getting the infield ready

Getting the infield ready

The Home Team's helmets

The Home Team’s helmets

Approaching the left field wall.

Approaching the left field wall.

On Deck Circle

On Deck Circle

I asked my nephew if he wanted to get a photo of the two of us on the field together – the answer was NO – but he did allow me to take a photo of him on the field (I won’t be sharing though since his parents aren’t on social media – so his photos won’t be either).

So after some ballpark grub – hot dogs, a few fries, water and our bag of peanuts – off we went to our seats in the upper deck behind home plate.  Here are a few shots from our seats:

Thougtht this was a cool shote with the Phillies sign and the city in the background.

Thougtht this was a cool shote with the Phillies sign and the city in the background.

Zoomed in view from our seats via my iPhone.

Zoomed in view from our seats via my iPhone.

View from our seats.

View from our seats.

The start of the game wasn’t great – it didn’t get interesting until late in the game – just right before we had to leave – the fun started with a home run by  catcher.  The little boy next to me got so excited he spilled a nice portion of his Phillie red italian ice on my side – good thing it matched my shirt!  It was great to see the team hit the ball and get some runs – it was 5-2 when we left and 7-2 by the time we got to our car – it was great hearing the roar of the crowd as we walked to the car – we knew our team was doing great.  It was an awesome ending to a fantastic day at the ballpark.

I wanted to share this story because I think sometimes we are always so busy in our daily lives we don’t take the time and really enjoy some of the simple things in life.  I hope I created a fond memory for my nephew – I know I created one for myself.

PS:  I did get him to agree on a self-portrait of the two of us in our seats!

Leave a Reply

