“Elaine Salad”

I had planned on grilling two filet mignons tonight – one for dinner and one for leftovers later this week.  The filets weren’t quite thawed and honestly I just wasn’t feeling it tonight.

I knew I wanted an Elaine Salad – aka a big salad – ‘its a salad, only bigger – with lots of stuff’ (although I’m not sure mine would be considered it lots of stuff – but it had enough).  I also had some fresh lettuce – picked from my neighbor’s garden yesterday.  So off to the fridge to see what protein I had and low and behold I had some Halloumi Cheese (purchased from Wegman’s).  This is cheese you can GRILL – yes I said GRILL.

Here is a view of it first on the grill:

Halloumi just placed on the grill (~300 degrees)

Halloumi just placed on the grill (~300 degrees)

You want it to get grill marks and you want it to look a bit like chicken when your grill it.  Something like this:

Halloumi Cheese with grill marks - looks a bit like chicken.

Halloumi Cheese with grill marks – looks a bit like chicken.

The rest of my salad included:  fresh lettuce, organic cranberries, pistachios and roasted peppers.  I also made homemade dressing – fig balsamic vinegar, EVOO, Dijon Mustard, Mediterranean oregano, fresh ground pepper and fresh ground himalyan pink salt.  I shook it up in a cruet (it has a line for vinegar, water and oil – I ignored the water line and just filled the vinegar up to the water line).  Making fresh, homemade dressing for you salad is so easy and good for you since you decide what goes in it.

Here is the final picture of the salad (note I did leave the cheese on a little longer – I burnt the one side – still very tasty).  The salad my not look like an Elaine Salad – it was – that salad was in a big salad bowl!

Yummy Halloumi Salad

Yummy Halloumi Salad

Leave a Reply

