Just got my UP

Just got my UP by Jawbone in the mail today.  I’m so excited!!  I can get an employee discount and the black medium has been on backorder forever.  I was able to order a grey medium (close enough to go with everything) on Saturday – Wahoo!

What is the UP?  It is gadget you wear on your wrist and it tracks your steps and sleep.  You put in your vitals – sex, age, height and weight – and it monitors your steps and sleep.  You can also add food and water intake.  Over time it provides insight about you day to day activities.

I’ve already set my goal of 10,000 steps per day (a big challenge for me), 7.5 hours of sleep (I can’t wait to compare this to my sleep cycle app) per night and the notice every 30 minutes I’m not moving to get up and move around.  

I’ll keep you posted.  I’m off to bed so I can get my 7.5 hours of sleep in the first night! 🙂

4 comments

  1. Nicole · August 9, 2013

    Looks cool – will you be using the nutrition tracking feature? I am wondering how the “snap a photo” function works out – if it actually can estimate calories, carbs, fat, etc. based on a photo that would be pretty cool.

    • keepingupwithkate91 · August 10, 2013

      I’m not so sure I’ll be using the nutrition tracking. I did yesterday, but I’m terrible about writing down my food. I may try it for a few days just to see a pattern. The more important thing for me are the steps – I sit way too much in my job and even the walking around during conference calls are clearly not enough. I got most of my steps in yesterday as a results of shopping for the Send-off – which sent me to about 5 different stores. 🙂 Luckily 3 were in the same area and the other 2 were close as well.

      • keepingupwithkate91 · August 10, 2013

        And if you are ever interested in getting one – let me know – I get a 25% discount through work.

  2. Nicole · August 10, 2013

    5 stores?! Sheesh! Looking forward to it though – speaking of rice chips, I had Sesame and Seaweed by Lundberg last night – SO GOOD. And let’s talk tomorrow about the UP – Ben has been hinting at a bday present for me, and we’ve talked about the Nike Fuel Band but this may be better.

Leave a Reply

