30 Day Shift Adjustment

If you read yesterday’s post you read that I’ve been re-energized after reading The Shift by #ToryJohnson.  And btw I heard today it is #1 on the Best Seller’s List.  

One of thing I noticed that helped Tory on her journey was writing her goals down. Now this is nothing new, but what I liked that she did was – write it on an index card.  So that is just what I did yesterday – a little more later as to what I have on it.

For more than a year I’ve been focusing on the following:

  1. Eat 3 meals per day – this is a well balanced meal with protein, carb and veggies.  No more than 30 carbs per meal – and enough protein to get me to the next meal.  And we’ve adjusted the carbs down to ~25 per meal (and no bread with breakfast) (and I bet most days I’m much lower than that per meal)
  2. No fruit – I’m carb sensitive
  3. Drink 60 – 80 ozs of water per day.   I’ve added some hydration tabs as my last two blood tests have shown that I’m dehydrated – I sweat a lot when I work out.
  4. Limit desserts and sweets in general
  5. Exercise 3 xs per week
  6. Enjoy my food – so I don’t eat stuff I don’t like!

As I mentioned earlier, I decided  yesterday to create a 30 day plan starting to see if tweaking the above would show any changes to my weight loss (it has kind of slowed down over the last 5 weeks).  One of the things Tory did was go cold turkey not having things.  I’ve always been fairly flexible as I don’t want to feel like I’m missing out on things.  However, I’m curious for one can I do the following and two does being so strict make a difference?  Time will tell.

  1. Water, Coffee or Tea only – no Diet Pepsi and no Diet Dr. Pepper.  I really don’t drink a lot of soda but I can tell you the next month I will be tempted with some work and personal travel.
  2. No bread at breakfast – I know this is in the above; however, I’ve been known to make exceptions – especially when I’m finished with my 6 week nutritionist appointment – I use it as a reward and know better than to use food as a reward! 🙂
  3. Limit my AM coffee routine to 2 cups per morning – and if I want a 3rd cup it needs to be black.  I enjoy light cream in my coffee.
  4. No dessert
  5. Exercise 4xs per week or more!
30 Day Shift Adjustment Plan

30 Day Shift Adjustment Plan

I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Leave a Reply

