Healthy Tailgating

If you don’t know already, I’m a proud PSU Alum! I have season football tickets and I just love fall in State College.

I’m going to 5 home games and 2 away games this year. I have 3 games under my belt for the fall (2 home and 1 away). Last fall I did quite good monitoring what I was eating and my adult beverages (no beer) (stuck with mixed drinks – Bloody Mary’s etc) (you drink less as you sip more).

This year I decided to attempt at adding some healthy options to my tailgates.  On most game days it is breakfast and linner (or lupper) on the grill.  The first home game I made breakfast – which is usually an egg sandwich with meat and cheese.  This year I made my egg with some spinach added to it.  It was delicious.  When I’m back up for a game in October – I’ll add more veggies as I won’t be having a breakfast sandwich (see my #SHIFT posts) – so it will have to be an omelet.  I’m bummed I didn’t take a picture of my yummy sandwich from the other week.

Onto Linner (Lupper) – I tried at the first home game to try Jack Daniel’s pulled pork sandwiches to mix it up a bit – too sweet – off the menu.  So last week when I was up with my Mom we had hamburgers and hot dogs – normal tailgate fare.  However, before we left NJ we stopped at a local Italian Deli for some yummy, healthy salads – cucumber, tomato and fresh mozzarella and a grilled veggie salad.  Delicious and a hit!  They will definately be added for future games.

Cheesburger with fresh salads.  Nice grill marks on the bun too!

Cheesburger with fresh salads. Nice grill marks on the bun too!

Hot Dog option with salads

Hot Dog option with salads

Any suggestions for other healthy options?

 

2 comments

  1. Nicole · September 20, 2013

    That mozzarella and veggie salad was my fave. Definitely do that again!

Leave a Reply

