Happy 100!

Happy 100th Birthday Mom-Mom!  I can’t believe it has been 11 years since you joined Pop-Pop.

I have so many fond memories growing up from our trips to LBI, spending a week with you during summer vacation, to all the wonderful Barbie clothes you made for me, to eating Thomas’ English muffins with your homemade strawberry jam watching the birds feed at the window (to this day I know what a Tufted Titmouse looks like), knowing there was always Breyer’s ice cream in the freezer (although not very good anymore), our Thanksgiving traditions (I’m still pretty much in charge of setting the table, the relish dish and cranberry sauce) and so many others.

The memories didn’t stop in childhood, they continued as an adult.  I always enjoyed our rides up to my parents house at Christmas (listening to the Christmas carols) when I was living in NJ, VA and even Dallas (and of course the pizza before the drive), Ash Wednesday McDonald’s Fish Sandwich run, sorting the homemade Christmas ornaments (with your watchful eye making sure I was splitting them up fairly – my tree has my beautiful ornaments on it every year) and so many others.

My beautiful Christmas tree with many of my Mom-Mom's (and Pop-Pop's) ornaments

My beautiful Christmas tree with many of my Mom-Mom’s (and Pop-Pop’s) ornaments

 

I have little reminders throughout my house so you are always nearby wheather it is things you made, some of your knick knacks and of course my favorite – the diamond earrings Pop- Pop gave you – one of my most cherished items because I know how much you loved them – I love them as well.

I think of you often whether I see or hear something that reminds me of you or something you would say or do.  It makes me smile.

My Sweet 16 with my Mom-Mom - we must be related with that head tilt.

My Sweet 16 with my Mom-Mom – we must be related with that head tilt.

Happy Birthday and I hope you are enjoying a nice cold one with Pop-Pop!  🙂

Leave a Reply

