New Yummy Finds from Trader Joe’s

Last week after my Spin class I stopped into Trader Joe’s to get their unsweetened Almond Milk.  And to my dismay – they no longer carry it in the boxed form – they carry it in the refrigerated section – not overly happy.

almond milkI should’ve left then but nooooo – I had continue walking around and I spied these lovely little cookies.

They are yummy in coffee, tea and milk - I had to try all 3 so you would know!

They are yummy in coffee, tea and milk – I had to try all 3 so you would know!

I was telling a co-worker about these yummy little things and she told me that Speculoos also has something else at Trader Joe’s called Cookie Butter and people put it in their coffee to make a latte.  She sent me the recipe today so I had to get it as it sounded yummy.  I actually walked passed it today – but did find it just to the left of the other butters (Almond and Peanut).  The description on the label says:  A deliciously unusual spread reminiscent of gingerbread and made with crushed biscuits.  

The original Cookie Butter Latte and ingredients

The original Cookie Butter Latte and ingredients

While checking out of Trader Joe’s – the person helping me said – “the Cookie Butter should be a controlled substance.”

So I made the recipe above tonight (sort of – I adjusted it – not as much Cookie Butter, decaf coffee and I foamed the light cream-warmed of course.  Honestly just too much stuff in the coffee and I really didn’t taste much of the Cookie Butter.  So then I decided to get a spoon out and try it – OHEMGEE – it is a spreadable version of the yummy cookies!

So then I found this recipe.  So much better and easier for me (I will probably experiment with the amount of Cookie Butter since 1 TBSP is 5 grams of sugar).  I tried with decaf (so I’m not up all night).  And instead of  almond milk I used light cream – heated 20 seconds in the microwave and used my little frother.  It is delicious!  You must try it!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

