Not Your Usual Sweet Potato Casserole

Thanksgiving is just a week away – I can’t believe it!  Are you ready?  I’m not – good thing I’m not the cook in the family.  I’m responsible for the wine.

A staple growing up in my family was Candied Sweet Potatoes and I despise them! I’m not sure why – I love butter, brown sugar and sweet potatoes (well at least baked or roasted) – somehow the combination just isn’t in my wheel house. The funny thing is between my brother and I – I’m the one with the sweet tooth – can’t stand them and he LOVES them!

Now onto the Sweet Potato Casserole recipe. When I lived in the NoVA area in 1995 – we had a Thanksgiving potluck at work and a co-worker (originally from S. Carolina) brought this in as her covered dish – I loved it.

I don’t have it often because I’m the lone person in our family who doesn’t like our family Candied Sweets.  So I thought I’d share it in case someone wants to try something new (and note – no marshmallows either!).

Sweet Potato Casserole

Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees

Ingredients:

  • 1 large can of sweet potatoes or yams (drained) (you can use fresh too – you will need to boil and peel them 🙂 )
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp clove
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper
  • 1/4 cup Kahlua

Mix all ingredients and put into buttered baking dish.

Topping Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 TBS Kahlua

Cook over stove until butter and sugar mixes together.  Stir in pecans and Kahlua.  Spread mixture over potatoes.  I sometimes make extra of the topping and add to the mixture (this might be my favorite part of the casserole).

Bake 30 minutes at 325 degrees.

What is your favorite Thanksgiving side dish?

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

