Decluttering 2014

I’ve been off for the past week with hopes of doing some major house cleaning (and maybe even decluttering) since I wasn’t hosting Christmas this year. Well – the best laid plans. I ended up with a nasty head cold / bug (no fever luckily) all week – I didn’t do much except sleep, Christmas gatherings and look around on Pinterest.

I received an email from Pinterest highlighting the best of 2013.  One of the highlighted items was Inspiration to Live with Less – Best Becoming Minimalists Posts 2013.  I scanned through it but the post that caught my attention was 10 Decluttering Principles to Help Anyone Clear the Clutter.  Her tips seem easy enough.  And I know I’ve accumulated many things over the years.  I was never able to declutter when I moved from Dallas back to the east coast – I tried when I moved to my condo but I haven’t done a major declutter in a long time.  I do make donations but I also seem to feel ok letting more stuff in since I donate – that needs to be on of the things to stop and it is on the list.  I think the two that I really like are declutter one thing at a time and declutter the easy stuff.

Once I went through the blog post, I actually went to Colleen’s blog:  365 Less Things.  Lots of great posts and ideas to really made me think about how much stuff I really do have and haven’t touched in years.  I know there will be some items with sentimental value that I may never let go but if I declutter some of the other things – maybe I can actually enjoy some of those sentimental items which are packed away still.

I think one of the things that keeps me from decluttering is I really hate throwing things out that still work.  I used to sell things on ebay, but I honestly don’t really have the time to sell things on eBay anymore.  Most recently, I’ve been using Good Donor – you register online and they have scheduled pick up dates in your area – they pick up at your door and leave you a receipt for donations.  Another local group I like to use is Homefront.  You have to drop off, but it is for a very good cause and the items stay local.

A recommendation from Colleen’s blog is Free Cycle – all items are free – you can search for your town or county.  You can post if you have OFFERS (items to get rid of), WANT (if you are looking for something) and TAKEN (if someone has accepted your OFFERS).  I found a freecycle group for my county and I posted a few things today:  VHS Tapes (4 different categories) and a 4 Head VCR.  Since I’m new to the group, my posts have to be approved and they haven’t shown up yet.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Anything that you have used in the past that have worked?

So my goal for 2014 is to really focus on decluttering – 1 item each day.  Anyone else interested in joining me?

5 comments

  1. Becca · January 2, 2014

    Sounds good Katie! I need to do some major de-cluttering, especially in my closet!!

    • keepingupwithkate91 · January 2, 2014

      Good luck. Mercer County Free Cycle is pretty good. So far I’ve gotten great responses from my posts. I started with my office yesterday and probably should’ve started with a closet! 🙂

  2. mikeandleslie277 · January 13, 2014

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by! I’ve spent the last two months digging out of man-barn clutter. It never ends!

  3. joy · January 14, 2014

    Hi Katie! I really enjoyed the books “The Power of Less” by Leo Babauta and “Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui” by Karen Kingston.

    • keepingupwithkate91 · January 15, 2014

      Thanks Joy! I’ll have to look into those books. Appreciate the suggestions.

Leave a Reply

