The Coveted Christmas Present

In our family there is a present we all receive – it isn’t an expensive gift.  It is a gift of time and tradition. It is a treat from my childhood and it was made for special events.  I think the first version of it was the Chex mix that my grandmother made.  And at some point became the Crispix Mix.  A nice savory treat.

I’m not quite sure when my Mom started giving it to us as one of our gifts.  I do know she has expanded as to who receives one.  There isn’t just one for each household – each member of each household gets their own tin.  And it is coveted!  🙂  This year my Mom added an additional one a House Mix – for the family hosting Christmas (and for sharing with guests).  It was yummy as usual (recipe posted below).

Not much left of my mix (note:  it was a small tin) :-)

Not much left of my mix (note: it was a small tin) 🙂

Crispix Party Mix (Xs 2)

  • 3 T margarine or butter (my Mom uses margarine, but I’ve asked her to try unsalted butter for next year) (although if I only have a portion of 3T of margarine a year – I don’t think it will kill me)
  • 1 t Season-All Seasoned Salt
  • 2 t lemon juice
  • 4 t Worcestshire Sauce
  • 6 Cups Crispix Cereal
  • 1 Cup Pretzels
  • 1 Cup Salted Mixed Nuts
  1. Melt margarine or butter in a 13x9x2 inch pan in a 250 degree oven.  Once melted remove from oven.  Stir in Season-all, lemon juice and Worcestshire Sauce.
  2. Add Crispix, Pretzels & Nuts – stirring until coated.
  3. Bake at 250 degree for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.  Spread on absorbent paper to cool (brown paper bages work well).
  4. Yields 8 cups

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

