Favorite Summer Recipes

Back in April, my Mom and I went to Vegas (her first trip). We splurged for dinner at Rao’s at Caesar’s Palace. The food was great but we both loved the Caprese Salad that we split. What made it different was a version of fresh mozzarella called Burrata.  It was so creamy.

When I got back to NJ – I actually had to ask a friend what it was called because I forgot the name.  At first I couldn’t find it locally – my Dad was able to find some at the Farmer’s Market in Central PA.  But luckily I’ve been able to find it on a regular basis at Shoprite (go figure).  I’ve been on a caprese salad kick now – both with burrata or regular fresh mozzarella.  It is super easy:

  • Fresh Jersey Tomatoes (if you aren’t in Jersey – than your local tomatoes – they just aren’t the same 🙂 )
  • Fresh Mozzarella – either burrata (a little creamier) or regular
  • Fresh Basil (I’m even growing my own – use it for this and in my eggs for breakfast)
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (you can splurge on this too because this helps with the flavor).

Layer tomato, fresh basil, fresh mozzeralla – add desired amount of Balsalmi Vinegar and EVOO – and enjoy!

Caprese Burrata Salad – from vacation:

Caprese Burrata

Caprese Burrata

Double Layer Caprese Salad – from a BBQ last week:

Double Layer Caprese Salad with Fresh Mozzarella

Double Layer Caprese Salad with Fresh Mozzarella

A family favorite BBQ meal my Dad has been making – Grilled Shrimp Scampi with Saffron Rice.  It is from the Sunset BBQ Cookbook – 1962 (page 50) it is called Colby’s Scampies.  I just had it last week (and bummed I forgot to snap a photo) when I had a chance to visit with my parents.  It is soooo good (menu was Scampies, Saffron Rice, Asparagus and a Caprese Salad).

Here is the recipe (from the 1962 edition):

  •  6 large shrimp – fresh or frozen
  • 1/4 lb (1/2 cup) butter or margarine (we use butter)
  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • 2 T Steak Sauce
  • 6 Crushed Garlic Cloves
  • 1 t each crushed basil, tarragon, celery seeds
  • 2 T dry white wine (my Dad uses a very dry vermouth)
  • Salt to taste

Shell and de-vein the shrimp and split each in a butterfly fashion.  Combine all other ingredients except salt in the sauce. Marinate the shrimp in the sauce for at least 1 hour.  When colas in the BBQ have reached the glowing stage, spread the tails out on the grill, turning them and basting often.  When they show a little brown in color, salt to taste, rmove from fire, cut into 1 inch pieces and serve immediately.  Serves 6 for hor d’oeuvres, 2 as an entree.

The above gives the verbatim instructions from the 1962 cookbook. A couple of notes, my Dad uses extra large shrimp (~ 1 dozen – he normally does ~ 2 dozen and doubles the other ingredients) and puts them on skewers – and I personally like the shrimp a little crispy – aka a few burnt ends!

For presentation purposes – place the Shrimp Scampi over the Saffron Rice – it looks really pretty and is so yummy!  I think I may have to make it myself before the summer is over.

What are your favorite summer time recipes?

Leave a Reply

