A Name, A Date and A Saint

I started reading the St. Chrysostom’s Churh Blog earlier this year because they had a great post on the Annual Blessing of Homes.  I read this post today on celebrating the date of your name.  My date is November 25th (for my given name – Catherine and all of my nicknames) – I’ll have to mark the calendar!

It got me thinking me thinking about who I was named after – my Mom, Grandmother – and I think she was named for an Aunt – but in the end we were all named after St. Catherine of Siena.  Catherine was way ahead of the times – she spoke her mind and demonstrated it (she cut her hair in protest).  The celebration of her day is April 29th – my Pop-Pop’s birthday – it will be easy to remember.  She was a smart woman and died at a very young age – just 33.  She left her mark though.  I think I would like her – love her spirit – I’d like to think I’ve got a little bit of her in me!

“Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world on fire.” ~Catherine of Siena

864a81732fa7edccef4ff965af81c525

 

 

Leave a Reply

