Good-bye Summer…

As I sit here on the last official Sunday of summer – it reminds me of THE STATION by Robert J. Hastings – my Dad gave me this poem when I went to college and it hung on my bulletin board for 4 years and I have I still have that original somewhere – I should get it back on the bulletin board.

I love the last part of the poem – “…climb more mountains, eat more ice cream, go barefoot more often, swim more rivers, watch more sunsets, laugh more, cry less.  Life must be lived as we go along.  The STATION will come soon enough.”

As we say good-bye to summer – remember the ice cream you enjoyed, cherish the times you had with family and friends, the feeling of the sand between your toes, the sound of the waves crashing on the beach – embrace the memory as we move into fall – remember to ‘relish the moment’ (which is perfect timing as it is tailgating season for me!)

Now go out and relish the rest of summer – I know I am!  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

