Attitude is Gratitude

At the end of September I started The 8-Week Body Project – A Complete Lifestyle Program which focuses on Fitness, Nutrition, Accountability/Structure, Education and Mindset.

I’ve completed programs at Body Project Fitness in the past and have loved it.  This one is different for me as I was looking for a RESET button.  I had some early success with my weight loss earlier in the year and now I seem to be in a funk.  Now this program is not about weight loss – this is about taking care of the whole me (and my hope is the weight loss will be a by product).

I’ve learned a lot so far.  Although I know a lot about what I should be eating – I’ve actually kept a journal since September 23rd – not 100% but pretty darn good for me since when I usually do a log – I do it for about a week.  And the journaling isn’t just about food – it is about how we feel, how much sleep I’m getting, how much water I’m drinking, my activity (trying to move everyday), success of the day, what we want to do better for the next day and what we are grateful for each day.  I will tell you I struggle with the last 3 and there are many days that I leave them blank (I have two more weeks in the program and will be more mindful of these 3)

Now fast forward a month, I’m a mentor at work and as part of this program they offer leadership development opportunities for both the mentors and proteges.  The program that was offered was ‘The Shadow you Cast’.

It was so on point to the many things we are talking about as part of our 8 week program. What hit home to me the most was Attitude and Gratitude.  On the attitude side – think about how you feel when you wake-up – that feeling is how we start our day – I bet there are many days when our attitude isn’t the greatest when we get up (myself included) and Gratitude – we all have more than 1 pair of shoes and none of us went to bed hungry last night.  Think about those two statements – makes the ‘problems’ we have a whole lot smaller – right?

Some other key points:

  • Be present in the moment (sound familiar to any BP ladies reading this post?) (and put those phones down!! 🙂 )
  • Surround yourself with strong, capable people – it was like my coach, Lindsay was right there.
  • We also discussed introvert vs. extrovert – not the personality portion but how you re-charge.  I’m such an introvert from a re-charging standpoint.
  • Self-talk and affirmations.  A great example was having your affirmations on a mirror or on your steering wheel as a reminder.  As part of our 8 week program, we all have mantras – mine are I’m RESILIENT and I’m STRONG!

The timing was perfect – as soon as I started listening to the call – I immediately took the notes in my journal and not in my work notebook – because this is all about how I live my life.

I just love that my company is developing its existing and future leaders to think and live our lives this way!

As October is almost over and we move to the month of November – the month of Thanksgiving – I’ll leave you with this quote:

Develop attitude of gratitude and give thanks for everything that happens to you, knowing that every step forward is a step toward achieving something bigger and better than your current situation. ~Brian Tracy

Leave a Reply

