I’m Resilient, I’m Strong and …

I’m Resilient, I’m Strong and Suck it up Buttercup were the 3 things going through my head today!  Why were these three mantras going through my head today?

In 2012, I signed up to walk The Beauty and the Beach Run all women’s charity run/walk/skip which benefits Aslan Youth Ministries.  I wasn’t able to participate because Superstorm Sandy ravaged the Jersey Shore.  I wasn’t able to attend last year as I had an Awards dinner to go to.  I procrastinated and finally signed up mid-month to do the event.  A friend and I were going to walk the event along with some other ladies.  I got a text in the early AM that my friend had to cancel (everything is fine).  I still had to pick-up up on swag bags and race bibs.  And the swag bag for this event is great – awesome shirt!

I had been watching the weather all week (and earlier this week I was a maybe as I was feeling a little under the weather).  The forecast was not great – mid 50s and rain.  Well rain at the beach in the fall / winter is never a good thing.  Well the forecast changed and the temp dropped about 10 degrees and they added wind to the rain.  I had an easy out today – I could totally bag the event – just pick-up our goodies and come home.  Then I stopped and thought – if this was a PSU game – I’d be going – no ifs, ands or buts! (my seats are covered so I do have some benefits there – but I’d be tailgating or something in the elements).  I thought about all the work the organizers and volunteers had put in and decided I could do this and I just needed to – Suck it up Buttercup (a little softer than just Suck it up)!

This race is 5 miles and I’m not currently a runner (maybe someday) so I knew I would be spending a lot of time in the elements.  My goal was to finish in 90 minutes (or less).  So I put all my tailgating experience to work and layered up (note to self – time to invest in a nice rain jacket with a hood – even the nice poncho I had would’ve been better if a jacket). The only thing different was I was in sneakers vs. boots.  Oh and I had hand and foot warmers too!  I don’t mess around.  🙂

The start was exciting – I even jogged a little and then I walked.  There were volunteers encouraging us and handing out water (and they were cold – rockstars – we could at least move).  While I was walking I was listening to my iPod and when my IT band started getting tight – I started my mantras – I’m RESILIENT, I’m STRONG and ever once in awhile my Buttercup phrase would pop in my head because it makes me laugh!

The last 1/2 mile was brutal – wind and rain (I swear they were pellets) – again the mantras and seeing that finish line really helped.  I jogged in the last portion of it so I could cross the finish line in style.  I finished in 80 minutes – a 16 minute mile.

There were 608 ladies who turned out today – I’m glad I was one of them.  Together we can make a difference!  Looking forward to next year’s event!

 

Ocean churning it up in Long Branch.

Ocean churning it up in Long Branch.

2 comments

  1. Mike Blaner · November 2, 2014

    Good for you!! I’ve found that those are the type of runs I remember the most – the ones where you end up soaking wet, cold, and you can’t feel your feet. Then you sit down for the post-race lunch, and the food tastes better and the beer is colder! Well done!!!

    • keepingupwithkate91 · November 3, 2014

      Thanks Mike! And you are so right – that post-race lunch and beer were fabulous.

Leave a Reply

