Half Marathon in the Books

This is way overdue!!  This has been in draft form since early April.  Been a super busy 2015 but really want to share my story below.

On January 1st of this year I started a run / walk program (as a result of my Jan – Mar travel schedule doing Market Reviews for work). Some of you know my LOVE of Running (or not) – I’ve been very vocal about how much I despise running!

I started off slow with a 2 minute run / 4 minute walk.  By the end of January, I was up to 5 miles and in a training program for a Half Marathon (my first) (2 minute run / 1:30 walk).  I think I finally signed up for the Philly Love Run on February 1st.  I’ve progressed to 2 minutes run / 1:15 walk.  There were 10K runners – I was #7389!

Sunday, March 29th was the 2nd Annual Philly Love Run at 8 am – it was a balmy (and windy) 27 degrees!  The sun was shining and it wasn’t raining – bonus!!

Pre-Race - 27 degrees - March 29th!

Pre-Race – 27 degrees – March 29th!

I finished in 3 hours, 15 minutes.  About 15 minutes behind where I wanted to be (the hills between mile 8 and 9 killed me! 🙂 – something to work on).  Just as a I was getting to the Finish Line I heard the announcer say my name and that I was just about to complete my first 1/2 Marathon- it was awesome – I think it was right about then that I put my arms in the air as I started to cross the FINISH LINE! (and thank you to the ladies below and Todd for waiting for me to finish – it meant the world to me to have such a great support team!)

Shortly after I crossed the Finish LIne - with my Medal!

Shortly after I crossed the Finish LIne – with my Medal!

I’m happy to say I’m a Half Marathoner!  And I would’ve never guessed in a million years I would say that (much less have completed one).   It was such an inspirational day!  I was running and walking with half marathoners – many who were a lot faster than me and some not – it was great seeing people pushing themselves to the limit both mentally and physically.  Quite honestly it kept me going and I was in awe!

The Moment!

The Moment!

 

And a week or two ago, I signed up for the Philly LOVE Run for 2016 – April 10, 2016 – here I come!

Leave a Reply

