Filet-O-Fish Kind of Day…

Look who is back!! 2015 was a bit of a crazy year and I just couldn’t find the time to sit down and keep up with my blog. I’ve missed it.

Last Wednesday was Ash Wednesday. I don’t get to church as often as I should – but I do my best (when not traveling) to get to Ash Wednesday services. It not only is the start of the most important season of the Catholic church but also makes me think of my Mom-Mom.

My Mom-Mom never missed church (unless she was sick or there was a blizzard) and even then we had to convince her it was ok. She never learned how to drive but that didn’t stop her from being an extremely independent woman.

I moved back east in 2001.  And the main reason I had been working to move back was to be closer to my Mom-Mom (I had less than 2 years with her).  One of the special moments I had with her during that time was making sure she got to Ash Wednesday Services and a McDonald’s Filet-O-Fish meal.  It was a real treat for her (and me)!

I’ve cut out lots of processed food and very rarely have fast food – but I had my Filet-O-Fish meal Wednesday night and it was AWESOME!  I enjoyed it!  I’m sure Mom-Mom was looking down and smiling! 🙂

My Sweet 16 with my Mom-Mom - we must be related with that head tilt.

My Sweet 16 with my Mom-Mom – we must be related with that head tilt.

Enjoying my filet o fish - ashes and all!

Enjoying my filet o fish – ashes and all!

Leave a Reply

